Instagram Glitch Results in Mass Follower Loss (UPDATED)

Caleb A. Robinson
2 min readFeb 13, 2019

Shortly after finishing my studies earlier tonight, I checked my Instagram stats on SocialBlade. To my horror, I discovered my writing account lost an astounding 764 followers in one instant. At first, I wondered if I had posted something horribly offensive without knowing it, causing my followers to flee in a mass exodus. Then I wondered if I was hacked. Turns out, it was neither.

I did some quick digging and found that several other accounts I follow also took a plunge in follower count, showing similar stats to mine.

Screenshot from SocialBlade

But it wasn’t just the writers’ niche. James Charles, a pop-culture icon, Tweeted this:

Dozens of other celebrities reportedly lost hundreds of thousands of followers, and Instagram itself lost several million.

My initial research led me to believe this mass unfollowing had something to do with Instagram deleting bot accounts as…

--

--